Pink Sky

Alumni & Our History   

This is our Alumni Director Jackson Beam who keeps us connected with our prominent Alumni Network allowing us to access resources and job opportunities. 

National History

Alpha Sigma Phi was founded by Louis Manigault, Stephan Ormsby Rhea, and Horace Spangler Weiser at Yale College in 1845 as a secret sophomore society composed of many of the school's poets, athletes, and scholars. Upon rising through the ranks of the school, members shared membership with Alpha Sigma Phi in their Sophomore year, one of three fraternities in their Junior year and Skull and Bones or Scroll and Key societies in their Senior year. 
Manigault and Rhea met at St. Paul's Preparatory School near Flushing, New York, where both were members of the same literary society and were preparing themselves for admission to Yale. Weiser attended a private school in New Haven, and he met Rhea early in his freshman year, who introduced him to Manigault. Manigault revealed to his friends Rhea and Weiser a plan for founding a sophomore society. Their first official meeting was held in Manigault's room on Chapel Street on December 6, 1845. The constitution and ritual were then written and the fraternity pin was designed. The first pledge class, of 14 members, was initiated on June 24, 1846.
In 2006, Alpha Sigma Phi won the North-American Interfraternity Conference's Laurel Wreath Award for the Ralph F. Burns Leadership Institute for new members.

Local History

The initial 15 members of the University of California, Davis Colony were initiated on January 21, 2011, by Dr. Scott Gallagher, Epsilon (Ohio Wesleyan) ‘95, Steve Latour, Delta Rho ‘04 (Central Michigan), Robert Kutz, Nu ‘67 (California), past Undergraduate Grand Councilor Brian Thomas, Nu ‘08 (California), Tom Toller, Nu ‘82 (California), and undergraduates of Nu Chapter. With the assistance of our Grand Chapter Advisor Jeffrey R. Brehmer, California '85, and the Chapter Council, the group of 30 men was chartered as Zeta Gamma Chapter on November 20, 2011. The Ceremony was held at the Conference Center on campus. Notable attendees included: Grand Historian Bob Kutz, Nu '67 (California), and Steve Latour, Delta Rho '04 (Central Michigan), represented Fraternity Staff.

Philip Pachtman, Zeta Gamma '10 (UC Davis), was our Founding President.

We moved to our current official fraternity house on 340 Parkway Circle in 2014 and are neighboring with other social greek organizations such as Pi Kappa Phi, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Kappa Alpha Theta, Sigma Chi, Tau Kappa Epsilon, and Sigma Nu.

With 25 active brothers from diverse backgrounds and different parts of the world, we are proud to say that we are all guided by our core values and mission: To Better The Man.

Chapter Awards

UC Davis OSFL "Greek Weekend of Service"- 2nd place, 2019
Alpha Gamma Upsilon Bronze Cup-2017
UC Davis OSFL "President of the Year" Award- Caleb Hill, 2016-2017
UC Davis IFC "Pillar of the Community" Award- Daniel Finn, 2015
Kleinoeder Graduate Scholar of the Year- Joshua Tan '13, 2015